Monday, January 7, 2008

Further adventures in the Hollows

In this fourth book in the Rachel Morgan series, Rachel travels away from the Hollows, the setting for the first three books, on a rescue mission. I've mentioned this before, but it bears repeating: this series is best read in order - each book has its own separate plot arc, but events carry through from one book to the next, so starting with this book would make for a confusing reading experience. If you are at all thinking of reading this series, beware of spoilers in the following paragraphs!

Previously, Rachel and her pixie partner Jenks had a serious falling-out. Jenks has moved out, and Rachel misses him dreadfully and regrets not having trusted him with sensitive information, which was why he left in the first place. She learns that Jenks's son Jax is in trouble - apparently Nick, her ex-boyfriend, has gotten him involved in some sort of shady activity, and Rachel is not happy.

She feels responsible - after all, it was her ex-boyfriend who got Jax involved in the first place - and she fully intends to give Nick a piece of her mind. Jenks returns, anxious to rescue Jax. He wants to go with Rachel to Michigan, but the cold weather there is too harsh for a pixie to be able to survive. The solution to that: grow Jenks to the size of a regular human. His new size makes for some problems - one of his strengths as a partner in the firm was his size and ability to flit around without being seen. Ivy cannot accompany them, and Rachel and Jenks have some issues to work out before they'll be able to work as a team to accomplish much of anything at all.

Once again, Kim Harrison has combined humor, suspense, deft characterization and a touch of romance to create a very compelling story. Rachel is continually challenged to walk a narrow line between beneficial earth magic and delving into darker, more dangerous magic in order to save the lives of those she loves. I am looking forward to reading the next installment in this gripping series.

The Rachel Morgan (Hollows) series in order (so far):
  1. Dead Witch Walking
  2. The Good, the Bad, and the Undead
  3. Every Which Way but Dead
  4. A Fistful of Charms
  5. For a Few Demons More
  6. The Outlaw Demon Wails
A Fistful of Charms by Kim Harrison (HarperTorch, 2006)

Other blog reviews:

The Movieholic and Bibliophile's Blog
Digigirl's Library of Paranormal Romance
Books & Travel & My Various Musings


  1. Thanks for the link! This is one of my favorite books in the series. I can't wait to hear what you think of the current one.

  2. I REALLY need to start this series!!

  3. Ladytink - I almost hate to read the next one, because then I'm stuck waiting for the new one to be published, and also because in your review you alluded to something that I'm probably not going to like happening in it. Yikes! But of course I'll read it soon. Oh, and you're welcome for the link - I enjoyed rereading your review!

    Stephanie - I guess I'll keep reviewing the books in the series till you do! :-)

  4. Yeah I hate putting spoilers in my post.

    The next book The Outlaw Demon Wails is supposed to come out next month.

  5. I am excited about the new one coming out - especially since she often leaves small things unresolved at the end, and I'm dying to know what happens next (like with the falling-out with Jenks two books ago).


Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment!