Tuesday, September 30, 2008

One last diabolical scheme...

In the previous two books in the Artemis Fowl series, the boy genius has been in that most enviable position of young heroes: his parents are out of the way, not interfering with his adventures. But all that is about to change. His father is back, and what's worse is that he no longer is obsessed with finance, the family fortunes, and money-making schemes. During his long ordeal, Artemis's father realized that his family is more important to him than anything, and he is determined to mend his ways.

Thirteen-year-old Artemis is not sure exactly how he feels about this turn of events. Part of him is pleased, but the other is worried that life from here on out will be boring, boring, boring. So he decides to carry off one last diabolical scheme. After all, with a mind like his, perfect planning, and Butler, his faithful bodyguard, by his side, what could possibly go wrong?

Using fairy technology he'd "acquired" in a previous adventure, Artemis has developed a technological marvel that makes the iPhone look like a couple of paper cups connected by a string. He takes the prototype to a meeting with a sociopathic American businessman, but instead of being the quick money-making deal he so confidently expects, the plan explodes in his face. Artemis is left with the sickening realization that he has made a huge mistake and may lose the things that truly matter most - and he has also inadvertently rendered the entire fairy world vulnerable to a very dangerous adversary.

This is another rip-roaring adventure tale, excellently narrated by Nathanial Parker, who tells the story in such a compelling way that I wouldn't consider choosing anything but the audio versions of these books. Artemis's fairy "friends" are back, including Captain Holly Short, Mulch Diggums and Commander Root, and I was pleased to become better acquainted with Butler's little sister Juliet, who is quickly becoming one of my very favorite characters, providing many priceless laugh-out-loud moments. I'm enjoying watching Artemis become more human as the series progresses, changing and growing as he learns tough life lessons. It is also great fun to witness the masterful way his brilliant mind manages to turn dead-end situations into brilliant - and risky - runs for the gold.

Books in the Artemis Fowl series:
1. Artemis Fowl
2. Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident
3. Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code
4. Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception
5. Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony
6. Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox

Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code (#3 in the Artemis Fowl series) by Eoin Colfer; narrated by Nathaniel Parker (Listening Library, 2004)

Also reviewed at:
But What These Unobservant Birds


  1. Juliet is totally my favourite character.

    I just read the sixth Artemis Fowl book (where he goes back in time and meets his younger self) and it was interesting to see what Artemis thought of his younger self.

  2. Juliet's a lot of fun, isn't she?! I love the premise of #6 - that sounds very interesting. I love having a few books left to go in a series I'm enjoying!


Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment!