Thursday, November 29, 2012

Kitty Goes to War

Kitty is a breath of fresh air when it comes to the usual kick-ass urban fantasy heroines - you know, the ones who are drop-dead gorgeous, skilled in martial arts and weaponry, intelligent, powerful and witty. She is smart and attractive, yes, but she has come a long way in the powerful department. She was originally turned into a werewolf against her will, and has experienced quite a struggle to become who she is now - and it's a believable struggle, one that leaves me rooting for her and willing to go along for the ride on all of her adventures.

Because of the way the characters and their relationships progress throughout this series, it's best to read it in order, so to avoid spoilers, stop reading here and check out my review of the first book, Kitty and the Midnight Hour.

Kitty is the voice behind the late-night talk show The Midnight Hour, where she deals with all things supernatural. One of her shows happens to focus on strange happenings at a chain of convenience stores - just rumors and bizarre stories, nothing substantial. But when the company takes legal action against the radio station, Kitty knows she's stumbled onto something interesting, and of course she has to investigate. She uncovers a hornet's nest, but it's hard to focus on that mystery when she also becomes involved in trying to help what's left of a secret all-werewolf military group that has recently come back from a disastrous mission overseas.

I continue to enjoy this series, its characters, the setting, and the fictional world that Vaughn has built.  Fans of Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs and Laurell Hamilton ought to find a lot to love here, as well as those who simply enjoy mysteries wrapped up in fascinating supernatural goodness.

Books in the Kitty Norville series:
1. Kitty and the Midnight Hour
2. Kitty Goes to Washington 
3. Kitty Takes a Holiday
4. Kitty and the Silver Bullet
5. Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand
6. Kitty Raises Hell
 Kitty's House of Horrors
8. Kitty Goes to War
9. Kitty's Big Trouble
10. Kitty's Greatest Hits (short story collection)
11. Kitty Steals the Show
12. Kitty Rocks the House

Kitty Goes to War (#8 in the Kitty Norville series) by Carrie Vaughn (Tor, 2010)


  1. I sadly own a large part of this series and have only read book 1... I get a bit burned out on series...

  2. Kailana - I know just what you mean. I tend to space my series reading out - but it's a fine line between reading too many too soon and burning out, and spacing them out too far apart so I forget what's been going on!


Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment!