Friday, December 7, 2012

Blue Diablo


Why on earth I'm starting yet another series when I'm still working my way through so many, I have no idea. I keep hearing about good ones, and I just can't help it! I always worry a little with the start of a new one (and to tell the truth, I've become pretty picky about which series are actually good enough to bother with continuing). I'm happy to say, though, that this one is a keeper. I enjoyed it the entire way through.

The story is about a woman named Corine, who is an American living in a small town in Mexico because she is in hiding from her former life. She owns a little shop, and she lives a quiet - if lonely - life. But when her past comes walking through the door in the form of the very sexy Chance, her ex-boyfriend, she is alarmed. When he tells her his mother has been kidnapped, and he needs her help to find her, she has no choice but to help. She loves his mother, and she knows that her unusual ability can be of invaluable assistance in locating the old woman. Corine is a handler: she can touch an object and (for a price) receive impressions of the circumstances surrounding that object. She agrees to help, but she is determined not to fall into old mistakes regarding her ex.

This is a tightly written, well-paced novel with characters who have depth and personality. I loved the Mexican/Texas setting, the relationship between her and Chance, and the characters they meet along the way. I particularly enjoyed the way Corine's back story is revealed piece by piece as the story progresses, and each new piece of information informs the narrative, giving it depth as it unfolds. It's a very effective and interesting means of telling a story.  Fans of Jennifer Rardin's Jaz Parks series and Karen Chance's series should find this one very appealing.

Books in the Ann Aguirre series:
1. Blue Diablo
2. Hell Fire
3. Shady Lady
4. Devil's Punch
5. Agave Kiss (2013)

Blue Diablo  (#1 in the Corine Solomon series) by Ann Aguirre (Roc, 2009)

Also reviewed at:
Babbling about Books, and More: "Blue Diablo is so very original and refreshing. I have to give it to Ann to writing a story with a nice balance of fantasy and mystery."
Janicu's Book Blog: "I liked it – an urban fantasy with an international flare. It's an action packed first book, full of flawed but likeable characters and relationships."
My Friend Amy: "I really enjoyed Aguirre's writing...I found it to be crisp and descriptive. I absolutely adored Chance..."

2 comments:

  1. I wanted to try this series, too, but haven't yet... I am not entirely sure if it would be for me, but I have heard good things.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you would probably enjoy this. I'll let you know how #2 goes. I do definitely intend to continue with this series.

      Delete

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment!