Saturday, February 16, 2013

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls


Something strange is going on in the little town of Belleville: children are disappearing, but no one seems to notice their absence - no one, that is, except Victoria, whose best friend, Lawrence, is suddenly missing. Adults are lying to her; nasty bugs are running all over the place, and Victoria becomes convinced that Lawrence has been taken to the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls. This one should appeal to fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Series of Unfortunate Events. It was a fun read, but I never really connected to the characters, and the premise of the plot and the truth behind the mystery were a bit too over the top for this adult reader to buy into. However, I doubt the book's intended audience will share my misgivings.

The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand; illustrated by Sarah Watts (Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2012)

2 comments:

  1. I have been curious about this book for a while...

    (Would you be willing to swap postcards??? Let me know! kellyreads (at) gmail (dot) com)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sure! Sorry for the delayed response - I'll email you.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment!