Friday, March 1, 2013

Dying on the Vine

It's a happy day for me when a new book in the Gideon Oliver series comes out. It's one of those series that I've been reading for decades - since the early 80s (!), so opening the pages feels like spending time with old friends - with the added fillip of a mystery to be solved, inevitably involving the discovery of some moldering bones. Professor and physical anthropologist Gideon Oliver, also known (to his embarrassment) as the Skeleton Detective, is in Italy.  When he is asked to teach a group of Italian police some of the fundamentals of bone forensics, his findings reopen a case, originally determined to have been a suicide/murder, involving Tuscan winemaker Pietro Cubbiddu and his wife. Once again Elkins has written a compelling mystery with engaging characters and a most enjoyable setting - his affection for Italy and its inhabitants shines through the prose, which made it all that much more fun to read.

Books in the Gideon Oliver (Skeleton Detective) series:
Gideon Oliver series
1. Fellowship of Fear
2. The Dark Place
3. Murder in the Queen's Armies
4. Old Bones
5. Curses
6. Icy Clutches
7. Make No Bones
8. Dead Men's Hearts
9. Twenty Blue Devils
10. Skeleton Dance
11. Good Blood
12. Where There's a Will
13. Unnatural Selection
14. Little Tiny Teeth
15. Uneasy Relations

Dying on the Vine (#16 in the Gideon Oliver series) by Aaron Elkins (Berkley Prime Crime, 2012)


  1. I... do not know this series. Why do I not know this series? I need another mystery series like I need a hole in the head (which no doubt this detective would find rather interesting)...

    To the TBR!

  2. Kiirstin - I'll be interested to hear what you think of this. It's definitely one where the books get better and better as the series goes on. He also does a fun one that unfortunately only has a few books in it that is about art history, stolen artwork, that sort of thing, and I love that one, too.


Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment!