Thursday, November 20, 2014

Sorcery and Cecelia:or the Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Caroline Stevermer and Patricia C. Wrede


While this is the at least the third time I've read this book, since it’s one of my favorites, it’s the first time I've read it since I started reviewing books here on this blog. It seems odd to be only reviewing it now, but I want to tell everyone about it because it’s such a fun read.

It is an epistolary novel set in an alternate Regency England in which wizards and magic exist. Our two heroines, Kate and Cecelia, are cousins who tell the story through their letters that are exchanged with each other (each character’s written by one of the authors of the book). The story opens with one cousin going to London for her big debut, and the other having to remain in the country. They are sad to be separated at such an exciting time in their lives.

But soon they are each caught up in a fascinating mystery. In London, Kate is nearly poisoned by a nasty sorceress and teams up with an “odious” but attractive Marquis to foil a dastardly plot. And in the country, Cecelia’s rather ordinary cousin seems to suddenly possess the ability to charm every male who sets eyes on her. The plot twists and turns, full of danger and possible social disasters, humor, and romance. Fans of Austen and Wodehouse who enjoy fantastical elements in their fiction will fall in love with this book. Highly recommended.

Books in the Sorcery and Cecelia series: 
1. Sorcery and Cecelia
2. The Grand Tour
3. The Mislaid Magician

Sorcery and Cecelia: or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer (Magic Carpet Books, 2003

2 comments:

  1. I was so happy to see this pop up in my feed! (I'm still around, just never have time to read anything and lately life has been all lemons...) I loved this book so much. I was also happy to see my library has the next two, but I have yet to actually read them. I am having reading issues these days. But I WANT to read them because this book was just so charming and fun.

    And, hi! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Cat! So glad to hear from you! I have been so busy too but am hoping to get back to more regular reviews and posts. Sorry to hear about the lemons. Hope that turns around for you soon. Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment!