Monday, December 15, 2014

Kitty's Big Trouble by Carrie Vaughn


I continue to enjoy this series about radio host/werewolf Kitty Norville, with its interesting long-term narrative arc that carries throughout the series, as well as each individual book's self-contained mystery. In this installment, Kitty is thinking about the use of werewolves in military situations, after having experienced such use firsthand in the previous book. She uncovers some interesting information about Wyatt Earp, and then is called to San Francisco to help out in an apparently unconnected situation involving some vampires.

This series is best read in order, as the characters and their situations change and develop from one book to the next.  There is humor, peril, solid world-building, memorable characters, mystery, and a little romance. I tend to save up these books as I do J.D. Robb's Eve Dallas books, for when I want a dependable, gripping read.

Books in the Kitty Norville series:
 1. Kitty and the Midnight Hour
2. Kitty Goes to Washington 
3. Kitty Takes a Holiday
4. Kitty and the Silver Bullet
5. Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand
6. Kitty Raises Hell
 
7.
 Kitty's House of Horrors
8. Kitty Goes to War
9. Kitty's Big Trouble
9.5. Kitty's Greatest Hits (short story collection)
10. Kitty Steals the Show
11. Kitty Rocks the House
12. Kitty in the Underworld
13. Low Midnight
14. Kitty Saves the World

Kitty's Big Trouble (#9 in the Kitty Norville series) by Carrie Vaughn (Tor, 2011)

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Tempt the Stars by Karen Chance


This is one of my current favorite series, and whenever a new book comes out, I'm always very excited to get to it - but want to wait as long as possible before I give in and read it, because then I'm stuck waiting for the next installment to be published.  I enjoy this series in particular because it features supernatural elements that are fresh and unusual - such as the heroine's ability, as Pythia, to time travel and influence the time stream - as well as some more typical elements - such as vampires - that are presented in a fresh, unusual, interesting way. Not the same old, same old, which is always nice.

This book proceeds at the usual breakneck pace, full of adventure, peril, humor and new insights into Cassie's world and the characters there. The structure of the novel didn't feel as unified as usual - there are many loose ends and unexplored things that will, presumably, be addressed in future installments. I did enjoy the trip to the demon realms and seeing a new side of Pritkin, and it was great to see Cassie coming to terms with her powers and her responsibilities. I'm very much looking forward to reading the next book. Fans of Laurell Hamilton and Patricia Briggs would be likely to enjoy this series, too.

Books in the Cassandra Palmer series:
 1. Touch the Dark 
2. 
Claimed by Shadow 
3. Embrace the Night
4. Curse the Dawn

5. Hunt the Moon
6. Tempt the Stars
7. Reap the Wind

Tempt the Stars (#6 in the Cassandra Palmer series) by Karen Chance (Signet Select, 2013)